Collection Day

I decided to squeeze every penny out of you

I made the penny no longer circulate

I made you spend a burden heavier than your pockets

I have come to collect my just desserts

I manufactured more items to devalue the dollar

I created this day for fortune, but only I shall reap the rewards

I appointed this day a life unlivable

I assure you nothing can be unequivocal

I am a conniving individual, and some say I’m hypocritical

I gave birth to a day that will never die

I call it collection day – but you think of it otherwise

I dream every year for this day to come

I continue to be content with everything coming my way

I am addicted to money, greed, and lust

I am unidentifiable

Who am I?

4 thoughts on “Collection Day

  1. It made me think of the Beatles’ Taxman.

    If you drive a car, I’ll tax the street,
    If you try to sit, I’ll tax your seat.
    If you get too cold I’ll tax the heat,
    If you take a walk, I’ll tax your feet.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the read and continued support, Vic. I always appreciate your comments. I haven’t heard Taxman for about three years now. Really interesting comparison. It just goes to show that this economic pattern has been evident for many decades now. It was a plan instated for the ages before my time.

      Like

      1. Absolutely. I think that taxation is the state’s most effective tool in requiring tacit consent from the populace. When we pay taxes, we give states legitimacy (whether we want to or not).

        Like

Leave a Reply

