Whimsical Encounter

I ran into my friend Edna the other day and she seemed rather perturbed about a close friend of ours. She kept explaining to me that he didn’t pick up the check for their last dinner. Telling me that she paid for the last three dinners and wasn’t sure why she kept bothering to pay. I told her not to feel bad about paying, and that the omission of guilt needed to be established in order for her to stop putting money down for the check. She wasn’t sure why I said that because the look on her face was a combination of being baffled and confused; little did I know that it was her “bathroom” face. I was completely oblivious to the fact and I continued to offer her an assortment of different beverages that I was carrying with me. She politely refused as I remained in the dark about her eccentric facial expressions. We decided to take a quick walk instead of standing one spot on the side of the street. She turned towards me and began to fill me in on her current boyfriend.

“I really don’t know what is wrong with him sometimes. He doesn’t seem to pay attention to anything I say or do. Having to pick up the check every time we go out for dinner isn’t helping either, it is just adding to the pile of stress.” she explained in a ferocious manner

“Believe me, we have all been there one time or another. Don’t take it too personal. Maybe he is just having trouble expressing his feelings towards you.” I assured her

“You could be right about that. He has never had a girlfriend before me – but sometimes I tend to forget. It’s very difficult to deal with someone who is socially inept in the department of love.”

“The department of love? Your kidding me?” I chuckled

“Shut up! I didn’t know how else to describe it.”

“No, no I thought it was interesting. I haven’t ever heard anyone refer to a relationship as the department of love.”

“Right. Then why were you laughing?”

“It caught me off guard. Sounded kind of silly in a somewhat profound manner.”

“If you say so. I have to get going now. I’m going to turn around and make my way home.”

“Alright, hopefully we will run into each other again.”

“We will if I want it to happen.”

“Your funny.”

“Oh believe me I know.”

As Edna turned around and walked away I couldn’t help but think about what it would be like to have dinner with her. She always was very colorful with me and seemed like a really interesting woman. Many attributes about her character were still a mystery to me, and I think that is what intrigued me the most about getting to know her. Having met her from a friend years ago it almost seemed like a dream. Neither of us talk to the person who introduced us anymore – but for some odd reason we continue to run into each other on a weekly basis. Maybe I should make a move? It couldn’t hurt I suppose. When and if we meet again I’ll make sure to ask her out for dinner. May she bless me again with another whimsical encounter.

 

This small piece of writing is a microcosm I created to jump start a trilogy of novellas for the new year. It will be comprised of numerous different encounters that express one purpose and cause. I hope everyone has a happy new year. 2014 is my year so be prepared for the impossible to become my reality.

Leave a Reply

